BarryGruff’s June 2015 Playlist


A regular monthly feature to the blog; a nice, neat and handy playlist of tracks featured during the month.

June was another pretty fine month for new music. We had new tunes from Girls Names, Sextile, Hibou, Velvet Morning & Hooton Tennis Club ahead of their respective, forthcoming new albums. There were excellent new singles from Hyde & Beast, Freedom Fry, Dan Amor, Slow Riot, Tomorrows, Alaska Wilson & PANKHABILLI.

Also featured on this month’s playlist are great tracks from Seazoo, The Statics, CZARFACE, Peaness, Energy Slime & Pale Honey. Yeah, so, June was good. And that’s all before mentioning the interview with Ric Rawlins about his new book, ‘Rise of the Super Furry Animals’ – read it here.

Listen to BarryGruff’s June 2015 playlist below.


Velvet Morning – ‘You’re Blue, I’m Blue’ & Debut LP Released on June 30th

Velvet Morning_1

Hailing from the seaside town of Leigh-on-Sea in the UK, Velvet Morning largely revolves around the talents of 20 year old songwriter, Samuel Jones. Ably assisted by his three band mates, this foursome have carved out quite a niche when it comes to gorgeously smooth, undulating psychedelia.

After treating us with a series of stellar atmospheric psych rumblings, Velvet Morning will finally release their debut LP on June 30th, through RIP Records and EXAG Records. Entitled Gorilla, the first delectable taste from their forthcoming album is ‘You’re Blue, I’m Blue’. A gentle, blissed out swirl of atmospheric psychedelia, ‘You’re Blue, I’m Blue’ fuses a languid groove and mellow guitar with whispered, semi-audible vocals, for an unforgettable, nebulous yet intoxicating four-and-a-half-minutes of psychedelia. Sit back, relax, and allow yourself to be engulfed in the twangy, undulating lusciousness that is  ‘You’re Blue, I’m Blue’.

You can stream the new single from Velvet Morning below, and you can also pre-order their debut LP, Gorilla, here now.

Velvet Morning – ‘Barrett Land’


Velvet Morning and their self-coined ‘smooth psychedelia’ sound were introduced to us last month, and now 19 year old Samuel Jones and company are back with a brand new track called ‘Barrett Land’.

‘Barrett Land’ sees Velvet Morning proliferate their dreamy slumbering wonderland – it’s a wonderful piece of alluring, swirling psychedelia that is every bit as seductive as any of their previous work. An eerie guitar line, rumbling bass and loping melodic guitar jangle, gently spill and sprawl over one another in slo-mo fashion, whilst the washed-out, whispery vocal sit upon dense, reverb-clad soundscape to evoke a hazy serenity. Just throwing it out there but perhaps ‘Barrett Land’ is Velvet Mornings homage to the late great Syd Barrett, or perhaps not. Either way, it is yet another woozy, spaced-out psych-pop gem from an ever growing collection of stellar songs from Velvet Morning, who, on this evidence are going from strength to strength – and long may it continue.

Check the tranquil ‘Barrett Land’ below.

Introducing: Velvet Morning

Velvet Morning

Velvet Morning are a four-piece hailing from the seaside town of Leigh-on-Sea in the UK, predominantly revolving around 19-year old songwriter Samuel Jones, who is ably assisted by Chris Richardson (drums),  John Kirkwood (bass) and Luke Elgar (guitars).

In their own words, this foursome describe their exploration of sounds as ‘Smooth Psychedelia’ but in reality it is far more than merely that. Their’s is wistful indie rock with a psychedelic twist taking one on an intrepid journey to the stars. This free-floating melodic mesmerism is matched with rich, warm production, as the atmospheric seduction and engulfing sultry breeze, endevours to capture the beguiling beauty of a heat haze. Velvet Moon’s current double a-side more than covers all these bases. ‘Octocity’ unfolds beautifully as flickers of psychedelic calm gently smolder over atmospheres of lucidity, feeding glistening guitars and readily flirting with the climactic euphoria but never reaching beyond its languid state of bliss. ‘Clouds Come First’, which is quite Spiritualized-esque, swaggers and bubbles with a smooth, effortlessly cool and focused groove melting into jangly, layered guitar atmospheric and huge reverberated melodies with some timely euphoric surges propelling it to ethereal new heights. It feels like we are in the throes of something of a psych revival at present, all fine and dandy to be fair if we continue to be presented with such delicious talents as Velvet Morning.

You can give both ‘Octocity’ and ‘Clouds Come First’ the once over below and their label ‘Sonic Playground’ are offering a free download of the double a-side  –  download it from here.