Introducing: Velvet Morning

Velvet Morning

Velvet Morning are a four-piece hailing from the seaside town of Leigh-on-Sea in the UK, predominantly revolving around 19-year old songwriter Samuel Jones, who is ably assisted by Chris Richardson (drums),  John Kirkwood (bass) and Luke Elgar (guitars).

In their own words, this foursome describe their exploration of sounds as ‘Smooth Psychedelia’ but in reality it is far more than merely that. Their’s is wistful indie rock with a psychedelic twist taking one on an intrepid journey to the stars. This free-floating melodic mesmerism is matched with rich, warm production, as the atmospheric seduction and engulfing sultry breeze, endevours to capture the beguiling beauty of a heat haze. Velvet Moon’s current double a-side more than covers all these bases. ‘Octocity’ unfolds beautifully as flickers of psychedelic calm gently smolder over atmospheres of lucidity, feeding glistening guitars and readily flirting with the climactic euphoria but never reaching beyond its languid state of bliss. ‘Clouds Come First’, which is quite Spiritualized-esque, swaggers and bubbles with a smooth, effortlessly cool and focused groove melting into jangly, layered guitar atmospheric and huge reverberated melodies with some timely euphoric surges propelling it to ethereal new heights. It feels like we are in the throes of something of a psych revival at present, all fine and dandy to be fair if we continue to be presented with such delicious talents as Velvet Morning.

You can give both ‘Octocity’ and ‘Clouds Come First’ the once over below and their label ‘Sonic Playground’ are offering a free download of the double a-side  –  download it from here.

1 Comment Introducing: Velvet Morning

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.