Peaness – ‘I Wish I Could Be Free’

Peaness photo taken by Twin Moon

Having loved their 2015 debut EP No Fun, which conversely is lots of fun, it’s great to discover Chester indie-pop trio, Peaness have launched into 2016 with similar gusto, releasing new single ‘I Wish I Could Be Free’.

The new one is adorned with all the bells and whistles that made their debut EP irrefutably irresistible. ‘I Wish I Could Be Free’ is a bright and buoyant indie-pop-powerhouse. Laden with wonderful vocals, sweet harmonies and catchy riffs, and coated in a light fuzz, it seamlessly slides from noisey to calm, and back again, with an ease and breeze. The trio have done it again! Delivering an immensely catchy, addictive and enjoyable, 3-minute-pop-song. No word on whether we should see ‘I Wish I Could Be Free’ form part of something more substantial or not, needless to say, hopefully we hear the follow-up to their debut EP sooner, rather than later.

Check out outstanding ‘I Wish I Could Be Free’ below now.


Millions Like Us Podcast – Episode 11


We’re thrilled to share yet another Millions Like Us podcast with you all. It’s great to back with the latest in a series of music podcasts hosted by Justin & I, in conjunction with Vancouver news & culture site 604now.

On a bi-weekly basis we aim to please, providing  some lively and entertaining chat and eclectic selection of fabulous music from metro Vancouver and elsewhere. There’s plenty in there, well over an hour in fact, of great tunes and plenty of chat.

You can read more on it over here and of course, listen below (and the tracklist (with links) is after the jump too). You can subscribe to ‘Millions Like Us’ on iTunes & Podcast Republic or find us on Facebook & Twitter. Or you can email us at millionslikeuspodcast[at]gmail[dot]com.

2016 has been good to us so far, so thanks for all the support thus far and once again, thanks for listening! And last but not least, thanks to Caroline for the image.

Episode #11 Tracklist:

Eagulls Announce Second LP ‘Ullages,’ Share New Song ‘My Life in Rewind’


Almost two years on from their self-titled debut, Leeds-based post-punk crew Eagulls have announced the details for their forthcoming second album, Ullages.

In advance of the new record, expected to hit shelves on May 13th, Eagulls have shared ‘My Life in Rewind’. Instead of a full on repeat of the jaggedly noisy post-punk that has made their name thus far, there’s been a change of tact from Eagulls. They explore a more melodic side of the sound they carved out so well on their debut record. Replacing the snarl is something approaching late ’80s/early ’90s indie and shoegaze, with the guitar lines of Smiths-era Johnny Marr. It is all enveloped echoing, empty expanse and George Mitchell’s harrowed vocal croon is loneliness personified. Bleak, yet somewhat beautiful too, ‘My Life in Rewind’ revels in gloom, demonstrating there are many shades darkness.

Ullages is penned for release on May 13 through Partisan Records. For now, you can hear ‘My Life in Rewind’ below.


Introducing: The Orange Kyte


The Orange Kyte is an experimental music project with an admirable manifesto to release a single a month, throughout 2016.

The brainchild of Vancouver-based, Dublin-raised Stevie Moonboots (House of Dolls & The Subterranean Satellite Band), along with a revolving cast of collaborators and cohorts, promise sonic explorations in sound. Drawing heavily from a love of ethereal tones, fuzz, reverberation and all things psychedelic, they deliver just that. Debut single ‘Morning Pages’, featuring Chris van der Laan of Vancouver punks Wars, is a woozy, dreamy & hypnotic, shoegaze tinged brand of psych-rock, all shimmering guitars and hazy vibes. As far as opening gambits go, this ranks pretty damn high. It’s going to be very intriguing (and rewarding, hopefully) to track the continuous evolution of The Orange Kyte project.

You can check out The Orange Kyte’s debut single, ‘Morning Pages’, below now. And track the progress of the project here, too.



Holy Fuck Return With New Album ‘Congrats’, Share ‘Tom Tom’


After a number of teasers, Toronto’s Holy Fuck finally announced a brand new album. Entitled Congrats, it’s out on May 27th and marks the band’s first release since 2010’s Latin.

While May and it’s sun-basked days may feel like an eternity away, the Toronto quartet have kindly shared the record’s lead single, ‘Tom Tom’. The track is a fuzzy piece of scratchy, distorted, chugging, crunching and thumping experimentation. It is a no-nonsense, take-no-prisoners, we-mean-business, signal of intent. A hell of a way to remind us all of how magnificent Holy Fuck can be, and why a close to six year absence is simply far, far too long. A monster of a tune. Holy Fuck indeed.

Congrats is out on May 27th through Innovative Leisure. Ahead of all that, there’s the colossus that is ‘Tom Tom’, to keep things ticking over very nicely. Turn it up LOUD!