Phantom Phunk – ‘Cheap Thrills’


Phantom Phunk are Tampa, Florida based trio of Alexa Toro (vocals), Nick Emiliozzi (drums) and Hector Fontanet (guitar), and also joined by local hip-hop artist Cloud Master Price.

Given the composition of the group, it will hardly be a surprise to find that together they make punk-tinged alt-rock, with a hint of hip-hop running through its veins. Phantom Phunk’s latest single ‘Cheap Thrills’ is both bizarre and exhilarating. Buzzsaw, bending riffs rev through the gears as synth, bumping bass and quickstep beats oscillate to the vocals of some psychedelic siren beckoning us listeners to simply “shake it!”. Then comes the drop and a momentary parting of the psychedelic clouds so to speak which provides just enough space for Cloud Master Price delivery his wares, as a flurry of energetic and focused barbed rhymes match the ferocity of the music step for step. A phenomenal tune, such energy and velocity, it packs a hell of a punch!

Listen to ‘Cheap Thrills’ below and if that is to your liking, their Struggle With Me EP is available for your ears here.

The Orielles – ‘Bobbi’s Second World’


Earlier this year Halifax trio The Orielles – Sidonie B and Esmé Dee Hand Halford and best friend Henry Carlyle Wade – released their debut album Silver Dollar Moment via Heavenly.

Their debut is a carefully crafted collection of songs, a distinctive amalgamation of uplifting and colouful sounds that sounds both familiar and fresh. Mixing it up between neon bright indie-disco, ’90s indie and swirling mid-60s psych/garage freak-outs, and their own unique oddness and idiosyncrasy to leave us with an exciting, eccentric and terrifically catchy album of pure indie-pop heaven.

Now, with the addition of fourth member Alex Stephens on keys, they’ve shared not-one-but-two brand new tracks. With the noticeable addition of keys, ‘Bobbi’s Second World’ sees an increased attention to an insatiable poppy danceablility. An infectious anthem filled with a buoyant energy and oozing with a colourful spirit and a heavy dose of funk. It grooves along with a swagger through funk-fuelled hooks and pulsating electrified cheeps and chirps, with Esmé’s syrupy-sweet vocals juxtaposed with the relentless, racing beats and swirling, psychedelic haze. The second track is a cover of Peggy Gou’s ‘It Makes You Forget (itgehane)’, a sparking re-imaging, filled with their trademark quirky charm and shimmering sonic delights.

You can listen to both tracks below and if you haven’t yet been acquainted with their debut album, Silver Dollar Moment is available here.

Continue reading

Jouska – ‘Glitter Chaser’


Jouska is the Oslo-based musical duo consisting of Marit Othilie Thorvik and Hans Olav Settem.

To date the pair have impressed with an intriguing and inventive array of singles and debut EP Frog Fiction, as they explore some of the more leftfield, out-there reaches of electronica. Brand new single ‘Glitter Chaser’ takes on a similarly stellar expedition to the realms of their imagination. Tempered by an airy/spacey atmosphere ‘Glitter Chaser’ sets forth in a sea of kaleidoscopic colour, brimming with divine harmonies and packed with crunchy beats and groovy synths which coalesce to create a super smooth, playful yet dreamy piece of cosmic electronica. Amid the alluring dreamy soundscape a final touch of bewitching beauty is provided by the heavenly vocals.

Jouska’s music is refreshingly inventive and exploratory, qualities marked out by both this and their aforementioned previous EP.

Listen to ‘Glitter Chaser’ below now – and you can tune into their debut EP Frog Fiction right here.

Hydromag – ‘P.J.R.’


Hydromag is primarily the work of Falmouth-based producer and multi-instrumentalist Josh Best-Shaw.

Having parted ways with his previous band he retreated to his bedroom to setup a recording studio, and began work on what he describes as “essentially a bedroom recording project”. The fruits of which were the Sweet Obsession EP and single ‘I Need to Know’ in 2017 and established his penchant for an alluring blend of dream pop and shoegaze.

Latest single ‘P.J.R.’, written in memory of a close relative who took their own life, subject matter aside, exists in a similarly dreamy space. A spacious, synth-sprinkled, elegant and chilled slice of delectable, ethereal dreamy pop. Gorgeous glistening guitars and lush synths shimmer through the enveloping ethereal haze as the steady beat tips away. While the dreamy guitar licks and synth have their charm, the true allure is the compelling beauty of the interchanging dual male-female vocal, the mellifluous cooing of the latter is irresistible. All in all, an elegant, exquisite and entrancing piece of shoegaze-infused dream-pop; magnificent!

Listen to ‘P.J.R.’ below; it is but one part of Hydromags’ forthcoming This Is Fleeting EP – expected in the new year.

KLANGPLANET – ‘Midnight’


Munich-based producer Frieder Mollat aka KLANGPLANET has been a regular feature around here, accustomed as he is to providing us with refreshing sounds from nocturnal, brooding house-inspired wizardry to funk and disco adventures.

The German multi-instrumentalist has returned with a sweet blend of jazz laced melodic house in the shape of ‘Midnight’. Constructed around a sparse funky guitar riff, throbbing bass-line and drum break, we are ensconced in a soothing world of transfixing late night vibes, deep house sounds and ambient wonderment. It is an entrancing spectacle, leaving us refreshed as the beautiful melodic downtempo and deep house flavours drift over us with ease. This is vivid, cinematic and immersive – music to get lost in if you will, and escapism at its very finest. Enjoy the trip.

‘Midnight’ is the latest in a long line of top quality releases over the past 12 to 18 months; you can check them out here.

Wovoka Gentle – ‘Peculiar Form Of Sleep’


Wovoka Gentle are Imogen Mason, Ellie Mason and William J. Stokes, a trio from London, they craft a colourful confection of neon bright sounds as they hop between genres and styles drawn from a melting pot of influences into a striking blend of understated indie, with an electro groove at its heart.

The trio’s latest single ‘Peculiar Form Of Sleep’ captures this aesthetic perfectly. Effortlessly catchy, upbeat and bursting with vitality, wonderful vocal harmonies float above a relentless, surging synth pulse and dance beat. as it saunters it’s way along a slinky electronic groove. Anchored by alluring sunny harmonies and infectious, off-kilter melodies, not only is it a real groover but this is electrifying, neon bright indie music to dance to – and pure magic!

Their latest single is a real doozy and should feature on their debut album which is penned release via Nude Records in early 2019. Listen to ‘Peculiar Form Of Sleep’ below now:

Victoria Bigelow – ‘Blame’


Nashville/upstate NY-based singer-songwriter Victoria Bigelow has shared a new single ‘Blame’, which is lifted from her forthcoming EP Going Blue and penned for release in early 2019.

‘Blame’ is a stunning, profoundly moving and melancholic yet beautiful piece of heart-aching indie-pop. Bigelow’s hushed, smokey voice strikes a reflective tone, channelling her deepest emotions as she details freeing herself from a toxic relationship. Stripped-back guitars, soft beat, steady shaker, the warm glowing organ hum and seductive 60s-esque melodies collude to create a hazy, floating veneer. This provides a perfect underbelly for Bigelow’s vocals to swell, growing in power, strength and defiance as ‘Blame’ progresses. Deeply touching and utterly captivating, ‘Blame’ ushers us into to the realm of something profoundly honest, beautiful and rather special.

Listen to ‘Blame’ below.