Pale Honey – ‘Killer Scene’

Swedish outfit Pale Honey have released new single ‘Killer Scene’ as they continue to whet the appetite ahead of LP number three.

Expected later in the year, Pale Honey already shared ‘Set me Free’ as an early taster toward the back end of last year, and they have released new single ‘Killer Scene’. The new single sees Tuva Lodmark & Nelly Daltrey continue their exploration of groovier territory but while its predecessor struck a balance between dancey electro-pop and alternative rock: ‘Killer Scene’ is firmly in the latter camp. It is propelled by a raw energy and driving relentlessness as meaty riffs roar and guitars chug as a sense of unnerving unease unfolds. The latter created in now small way by the distant vocal delivery of dark lyrical content. A mighty jam. Roll on album #3.

Listen to ‘Killer Scene’ below:

Pale Honey – ‘The Heaviest of Storms (Devotion Pt.1)’


Swedish indie-rock outfit Pale Honey – aka Tuva Lodmark, Nelly Daltrey & newly joined by Anders Lagerfors – recently released new album Devotion, the follow-up to their great 2015 self-titled debut.

Hot on the heels of the trio’s new LP comes lead single, ‘The Heaviest of Storms (Devotion Pt.1)’. It continues to embrace a formula that has served Pale Honey so well thus far; gritty, grimey alt-rock which can simultaneously seem soothing, blissful even. Sparse but meaty riffs, crunchy guitars intertwine as drums thump and thud to create a forbidding atmosphere. This scuzzy, sparse guitar-and-drums combo and impending sense of doom is is tempered by Lodmark’s alluring vocals and cascading melodies – accidental beauty. This is all kinds of ace!

You can check out ‘The Heaviest of Storms (Devotion Pt.1) below – and if that’s too your liking, why not try their new album out for size, here.

Pale Honey Return With New Single ‘Real Thing’, New album for 2017


Swedish duo Pale Honey – aka Tuva Lodmark and Nelly Daltrey – have been busily working away for a while now, crafting the follow-up to their 2015 self-titled debut.

​In the meantime the Gothenburg pair give us the first sneak peek at album number two – slated for release early next year – with brand new single ‘Real Thing’. It continues the blueprint that has served Pale Honey so well thus far; sparse but meaty riffs, crunchy guitars and drums combine with quick bursts of fuzz, interspersed with splashed of illuminating synth, which fizz and flare unexpectedly. Their scuzzy, sparse guitar-and-drums combo is tempered by Lodmark’s alluring vocals and cascading melodies – accidental beauty.

Their new, so far nameless record, is due out sometime in Spring 2017 via Bolero Recordings. For now, get on their new single ‘Real Thing’. Listen to it below and check out their Stranger Things inspired video.

BarryGruff’s Albums of 2015 So Far……


I’m not exactly the best at keeping you and the site up-to-date with album reviews, to be honest, it’s the old enemy time. Discovering the hours to scribble some thoughts about this album or that has become rather elusive, but thankfully finding time to listen to albums, and music in general, is less of an issue.

Here are a list of my most listened and loved records of 2015 so far with Spotify links and playlists for overall albums of 2015. There are plenty of playlists on Spotify and Soundcloud and on the blog too. Oh, and with regards to albums *cough, cough*, you can still download GruffWuff, a 19 track compilation celebrating 5 years of BarryGruff, for FREE from bandcamp, *cough, cough*.

Top 24 albums of 2015 so far…

01. Czarface – ‘Every Hero Needs A Villain’

02. H. Hawkline – ‘In The Pink Of Condition’

03. Villagers – ‘Darling Arithmetic

04. Blur – ‘The Magic Whip’

05. Ghost Culture – ‘Ghost Culture’

06. Boxed In – ‘Boxed In’

07. Django Django – ‘Born Under Saturn’

08. Girlpool – ‘Before The World Was Big’

09. Stealing Sheep – ‘Not Real’

10. The Charlatans – ‘Modern Nature’

11. Courtney Barnett – ‘Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit’

12. Gaz Coombes – ‘Matador’

13. Hot Chip – ‘Why Make Sense?’

14. Applescal – ‘For’

15. Public Service Broadcasting – ‘The Race For Space’

16. Jamie xx – ‘In Colour’

17. Sen Segur – ‘Films’

18. Zefur Wolves – ‘Zefur Wolves’

19. Faith Healer – ‘Cosmic Troubles’

20. Mowbird – ‘One-Offs’

21. Joanna Gruesome – ‘Peanut Butter’

22. Fort Romeau – ‘Insides’

23. Rozi Plain – ‘Friend’

24. Pale Honey – ‘Pale Honey’

Continue reading

BarryGruff’s June 2015 Playlist


A regular monthly feature to the blog; a nice, neat and handy playlist of tracks featured during the month.

June was another pretty fine month for new music. We had new tunes from Girls Names, Sextile, Hibou, Velvet Morning & Hooton Tennis Club ahead of their respective, forthcoming new albums. There were excellent new singles from Hyde & Beast, Freedom Fry, Dan Amor, Slow Riot, Tomorrows, Alaska Wilson & PANKHABILLI.

Also featured on this month’s playlist are great tracks from Seazoo, The Statics, CZARFACE, Peaness, Energy Slime & Pale Honey. Yeah, so, June was good. And that’s all before mentioning the interview with Ric Rawlins about his new book, ‘Rise of the Super Furry Animals’ – read it here.

Listen to BarryGruff’s June 2015 playlist below.


Introducing: Pale Honey



Pale Honey are indie-rock duo – Tuva Lodmark (guitar / vocals) and Nelly Daltrey (drums) – from Gothenburg, Sweden.

The Swedish pair released their solid self-titled debut album last month, one whereby their guitar-and-drums combo embraces a concoction of sleazy rock n roll, scuzzy dream pop and moments of reflective beauty. It maintains a distinct, stripped-down and pretty minimalist approach that blows up at will, the onslaught of noise (incl. cowbells, synth and laser-gun sound effects) is diced with the enervated vocals stylings of Lodmark, making for a rather remarkable amalgam. ‘Youth’, ‘Tease’, and ‘Lonesome’ are quintessential of this, and their sound; bass-heavy, sparse percussion and quick bursts of fuzzy guitar, interspersed with splashed of illuminating synth, which fizz and flare unexpectedly. The duo are well equipped with the slower, subtly tender and emotionally charged moments too, of which ‘Desert’ and ‘Sleep’ are testament to. Electrifying, attitude filled stuff indeed. Whether you’re wishing to kick start your eardrums with some high-octane activity or some subtle shades of unleashed emotion, Pale Honey have you covered.

Pale Honey’s self-titled LP is out now via Bolero Recordings/Instant Records (Stream/Purchase). You can sample some choice cuts below.