Anna of the North – ‘Always’


Having drip-fed and teased us with a series of stellar synth-pop singles, Norwegian-New Zealand electro-pop pairing Anna of the North released their wonderful debut LP, Lovers, early this month.

Comprised of Norwegian singer-songwriter from Gjøvik & New Zealand born Brady Daniell-Smith, together they craft the fabulous electro-pop something acutely obvious from their debut LP, and latest single ‘Always’. Like we’ve come to expect, ‘Always’ is a sublime slice of glacial, crystalline electro-pop with warm edges. Quite restrained, it shuffles along a slow groove allowing Lotterud’s soft vocals to shine and upping the lushness of the song. It’s a pristine piece of electro-pop from a duo who have an innate the knack for combining stunning soundscapes with thoughtful songwriting.

Listen to ‘Always’ below and if you like what you hear, check out Lovers here.

Anna of the North – ‘Money’


Norwegian-New Zealand electro-pop duo Anna of the North will release their debut LP Lovers on September 8.

Ahead of the forthcoming record the pair – Norwegian vocalist Anna Lotterud & New Zealand producer Brady Daniell-Smith – have been drip-feeding samplers in the shape of stellar synth-pop singles; the latest of which is ‘Money’. The latest single is a sublime slice of glacial, crystalline electro-pop with warm edges, honey-sweet pop vibes, eking out a sweet spot for synth-pop ballads with all the futuristic bells and whistles. A refreshing and uplifting blend of retro synth-driven melodies given an irresistible finish by the Lotterud’s alluring airy vocal. Simply sublime, and as with the rest of the LP, ‘Money’ was recorded in Oslo and mixed by Luke Smith (Foals, Depeche Mode).

Check out ‘Money’ below now & the album will follow on September 8.