Domino Records Release Free 2010 Compilation

Domino Records have decided to sign off 2010 with a little festive cheer in the shape of a free MP3 sampler of their releases in 2010.

The excellent 14-track compilation includes tracks from Villagers, Steve Mason, Clinic, The FallThese New Puritans and lots more from Domino’s cataloge this year.

It’s available stream or download for free from Here’s three very good reasons why you should!

Tracklisting after the jump.

The Fall – Bury Pts. 1 + 3 via Musicmule

Steve Mason – All Come Down via Niallb

These New Puritans – Orion via LukeLewis

Continue reading

Maverick Sabre – ‘The Travelling Man’

So, where to begin? Michael Stafford aka Maverick Sabre is a young London-born and Irish-raised musician who I discovered in Nialler9‘s list of the ‘Best Irish Music Downloads‘ in Day & Night Magazine.

This guy is astonishingly good. He recently released his debut record Travelling Man Mixtape for free via bandcamp. It’s a brilliant blend of Grime, Reggae, Electro, Dub Step and Hip Hop, although it isn’t genre specific it’s very fresh and substantive. Lyrically it’s deep and insightful, delivered with a raspy confidence as he tackles everything from heartache to the socio-political issues of everyday modern life.

Expect to hear much more from this guy in 2011.

Maverick Sabre – Run to the Roof via Nialler9

Maverick Sabre – Slow Down via Hoodcelebritys

Introducing: AdultRock

Gavin Elsted has been receiving some well deserved plaudits for his We Are Losers side-project of late but he’s also been busy with some solo electronic/remix work under the moniker of AdultRock.

The mercurial Mr. Elsted has released a rather exceptional EP which flew completely under the radar of most. It’s undeniably chilled, laid-back electro, brimming with superfluous ambient beats and chilled-out grooves.

You should probably check out the Barry Gruff May Mix he did in ,yes, May. Anyway, there’s a free 4-track EP available from Bandcamp.

AdultRock – Hermione

AdultRock – Adventures Pt 2

New White Denim Album ‘Last Days of Summer’ For Free

Last Day of Summer is the aptly-titled new record from Austin’s White Denim released last week. The band have been busy in the studio this summer laying tracks for their un-titled third studio album, this from the same session serves as a stopgap until album number three arrives.

Musically Last Day of Summer is a bit brighter, breezier and mellower than what has gone before. It was released via their website for free or you can send a donation to help the band pay for the cost of upcoming tours and the third album.

Download the album here.

White Denim – Champ

White Denim – Out Get

Evil Unkle – ‘Songs For The Road’

Galway musician Evil Uncle has released a new EP Songs for the Road. In a novel move sure to endear him to many a cash strapped music fans the price has been set at rather reasonable €0.00. The release coincided with an intriguing guerilla distribution campaign, 5,000 copies been left on cars down at Electric Picnic with a further 2,000 copies left in random places around Dublin, Cork and Galway.

“We were going through the process of getting the EP into record stores and trying to decide a price and I just decided, fuck it, why not just give it away? There’s a recession going on and the people must have music. Besides, every drug dealer worth
his salt knows that you give the first hit away for free….”.

It’s a rather curious mix of influences and styles all wrapped up in a DIY box with interesting lyrics, beautiful melodies, strong vocals (al a Simple Kid/Ray Davies) and some serious melancholy.

A Debut album is nearing completion and nationwide tour is pencilled in for November, if this is a taste of things to come we’re in for a treat.

Here’s two reasons to grab Songs For The Road for free now from

Evil Uncle – Timmy

Evil Uncle – Something For Nothing

Max Tannone – ‘Dub Kweli’

Max Tannone the brains behind Jaydiohead and Mos Dub is back, previously he’d mashed Jay-Z over Radiohead and Mos Def over old school reggae and dub cuts. The New York mix specialist has returned with Dub Kweli, yeah you guessed it, this time he’s turned his attention to the other half of Blackstar, mashing Talib Kweli with classic dub and reggae tracks.

This fusion of Kweli’s rhythmic delivery of intelligent, insightful and political lyrics with the old school Jamaican reggae and dub vibes feels honest and fresh, with Tannone’s eye for mixing and timing  coming to the fore. The end result isn’t too dissimilar to Mos Dub, excellent feel good vibes and rhythms that you can nod your head to, a must have for fans of hip-hop, reggae and mash-ups, and, oh did I mention it’s free?

Here’s three very good reasons to grab the entire album from his website

Mp3: Dub Kweli – Your Gospel

Mp3: Dub Kweli – Mourning Unknown

Mp3: Dub Kweli – More or Less Dub

Captain Moonlight: ‘Agroculture Trilogy’ For Free

Ireland’s premier purveyor of hip-hip Captain Moonlight has made his exceptional Agroculture Trilogy available for free digital download via bandcamp. He’s one of the few musicians willing to speak his mind on serious and controversial political issues while producing intelligent, honest, hard-hitting, often humorous hip-hop.

My admiration for this guys talent is well noted so I won’t digress any further – here’s three reasons to get the albums.

Grab all three albums from the Agroculture TrilogyLive From the Farmshed | Return of the Barnstormers | On the Lough here

Biggus Diccus – ‘Twelve Inches Of Love’

Like old school Rock or Eagles of Death Metal? Then Diggus Diccus ‘Home of the Hot Throbbing Riff’ are the band you’ve been waiting for. I’ve been spinning the album all day and not for the first time I’ve been beaten to it by Nialler9 who’s description; ‘Ireland’s premier providers of hard cock-rocking riffs are waiting for you to climb their flagpole of love’ can’t be bested – says it all really.

Download their album Twelve Inches Of Love for free. They play their debut gig at the free State vs. Popical Island gig in the Mercantile, Dublin tomorrow night.

A Must Download: ‘Guards EP’

It’s not often a mysterious release arrives from a band so elusive it’s near impossible to find anything about them online. It seems everyone’s struggling to discover more about Guards, all that’s known so far is they are based in NY and buzz band Cults bluntly announced via twitter they featured on this new debut EP. It might as well have dropped straight from the sky.

This kind of inscrutable nature intrigues me (it’s probably designed to do so). It turns out if you didn’t already know, not knowing anything about a band doesn’t inhibit the enjoyment of music especially when it’s this good, memorable 60’s inspired, breezy, lo-fi garage rock at it’s very best.

The EP features collaborations with Caroline Polachek of Chairlift as well as Cults. It’s solid as a rock the whole way through but don’t just take my word for it, download it for FREE from their bandcamp page – here’s two very good reasons why you should below.

Mp3: Guards – Resolution of One

Mp3: Guards – Crystal Truth

Lady Chann – Dun Dem Season Vol.1. (Free Mixtape)

The more I hear from Lady Chann the more impressed I am and this latest mixtape is no different, in fact it pretty much confirms all my suspicions. Dun Dem Season Vol.1 is mixed by Mad Decent’s Dancehall-Electro-Soundsystem South Rakkas Crew and along with the UK’s proclaimed ‘Dancehall Queen’ Lady Chann it includes Serocee, Toddla T, Warrior One,  J2K, Beenie Man and Sticky.

If that wasn’t enough its FREE to download from her MySpace, enjoy.

Mp3: Lady Chann – Dun Dem Season Vol.1.