Coves Return With New Album ‘Peel’ and Share Video for ‘Stormy’


The new album announcements are coming thick and fast, being that time of year and all. Adding their name to an ever growing list of albums set for release in 2016, is Coves.

The English duo of Rebekah Wood and John Ridgard will release new album Peel on April 1st. It is the band’s second LP and follows the pair’s much vaunted debut, Soft Friday; an atmospheric, distinctive and very enjoyable blend of spectral vocals, swirling psychedelia met with sweeping grandeur and dreamy synths. To warm us up for the main event, Coves have shared ‘Stormy’ and its visual delights, featuring visuals from lead singer Beck Wood. Apparently marked by Coves’ shift from Leamington Spa to London, the new LP is seemingly “split between fury and misery”. Saying that, latest single ‘Stormy’ picks up where the pair left off, retaining the essence that made their debut so, so good. It’s a well honed, thrilling and intoxicating three-minutes where soaring riffs and vocals mingle amid flickers of shimmering psychedelic, some rampaging guitar heroics, rhythmic grooves and plenty of swaggering confidence to boot. An emphatic indication that we may be in for quite the second album from Coves.

Peel will be out on April 1st, via the newly re-vamped 1965 Records imprint.

New cut ‘Stormy’ is online now, and it features visuals from singer Beck Wood. Check Stormy’ below now.

‘Peel’ will be released on April 1st. Tracklisting:

1. Cadavalier
2. You’re Evil
3. Tripping Over Lust
4. Stormy
5. To The Sea
6. See Me Love Me
7. I Just Don’t Care
8. So Empty
9. I’m Not Here
10. Tongue Ties


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.