Hooton Tennis Club Share ‘Katy-Anne Bellis’, Taken from forthcoming LP ‘Big Box of Chocolates’


Hooton Tennis Club recently announced details of second album Big Box of Chocolates, due to be released on October 21st, through Heavenly.

With the new record looming large on the horizon, the Liverpool band have kindly seen fit to share new track ‘Katy-Anne Bellis’. The new one feels like a natural evolution of the group’s endearingly ramshackle indie-pop sound, carved out on their wonderful and much-loved debut. ‘Katy-Anne Bellis’ – a bittersweet ode to a former flat mate – casts their swirl of carefree, hazy guitar jangle and irresistible melodies amid a aura of profound sentimental mushiness.Oh, and those guitars, they are still scintillating when needs be. Yet another decidedly brilliant track from Hooton Tennis Club, which sets things up nicely for the new record.

Check ‘Katy-Anne Bellis’ out below. The new record – recorded by Edwyn Collins at his studio in the Scottish Highlands – is out on October 21st.

Hooton Tennis Club will be in Dublin’s The Grand Social on October 24 and the rest of their tour dates meanwhile, are here.

‘Big Box Of Chocolates’ Tracklisting:

1. Growing Concerns
2. Bootcut Jimmy The G
3. Bad Dream (Breakdown on St. George’s Mount)
4. Sit Like Ravi
5. Katy-Anne Bellis
6. O Man, Won’t You Melt Me
7. Statue Of The Greatest Woman I Know
8. Meet Me At Molly Bench
9. Lauren, I’m In Love!
10. Frostbitten In Fen Ditton
11. Lazers Linda
12. Big Box Of Chocolates

H. Hawkline – ‘Salt Gall Box Ghouls’


If H. Hawkline isn’t a name familiar to you, then you shouldn’t waste a moment more before acquainting yourself with this enigmatic and supremely brilliant artist.

Taking his place in a lineage of great talent that seems rather particular to Wales, his music sits nicely alongside the likes of Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci, Super Furry Animals, Sweet Baboo and Cate Le Bon, to name but a few. There is something utterly enchanting, unique and unusual to his exceptional brand of psych folk (which encompassed forays into garage rock from time to time too). The allure lies in it’s slightly rough diamond aesthetic and charming oddity fused with experimental whims, and a remarkable ability for a great melody and obviously, a phenomenal tune. Having just signed to Heavenly Records, H. Hawkline has released Salt Gall Box Ghouls, a free album that serves as a ‘best of’ compilation from his output to date.

Structured chronologically to include tracks from previous albums and EPs on Shape Records, Thrash Aesthetics and Turnstile Records, it offers the perfect introduction to H. Hawkline or for those already aware of his genius, a neat, trim compilation of some of his finest work. There’s so much brilliance on show that it’s a rather onerous task to pick out particular tracks for singular praise. Personal high points would be the delightfully melodious guitar led, laid back and sunny ‘Ghouls’, the the 7-minute melodious folk rumble of ‘Black Muck’ that exhibits his penchant for veering off into a slightly warped, oddball territory. And last but not least, the complete and utter brilliance of ‘Kiss Me On The Lips’. The intro will have you bounding around the room as it hurtles along at breakneck speed, vocals charging at you, before morphing into a haunting folk ballad that will have you in complete wonderment. In short: This is a sublime introduction to a supremely unique talent.

Salt Gall Box Ghouls is out now & available to download FREE from here. You know it makes sense.