Jay Arner to Release New LP ‘Jay II’ & shares ‘Like Dracula’


Vancouver musician, producer and 1/2 of Energy Slime, Jay Arner has a second, aptly titled, LP Jay II coming on June 17, 2016 through Mint Records.

Arner’s got a proven, sterling talent for a tune, as clearly evidenced by his current, and previous work. The latest taste of his stellar pop-craft is ‘Like A Dracula’. It follows previously released ‘Crystal Ball’, equally as fetching, it certainly does not dampen our expectations for the new record. ‘Like A Dracula’ is similarly delightful, sun-kissed and glam-infused indie-pop as we’re greeted by, and treated to, an irresistible wave of hypnotizing synths, slinky grooves, shimmering guitars and oh so pleasant vocals. Based on the evidence so far, Arner’s forthcoming LP, is one to keep an eye out for.

While you’ll have to wait till June 17 to get your hands on the new record, Jay II, ‘Like A Dracula’ and ‘Crystal Ball’ are below for your listening pleasure:

Millions Like Us: A New Podcast In Conjunction w/ 604now.com

Millions Like Us logo (1)

Delighted to announce Millions Like Us, a new music podcast in conjunction with Vancouver news & culture site 604now.

Hosted by myself & craft beer, pastie and fast-food safari enthusiast, Justin Beats, we’ll be sharing great new music, some musings and general chit-chat, with a Vancouver slant, on a fortnightly basis. This is the first of what we hope is many, many podcasts and we’re looking forward to developing it further over the coming weeks and months. Not much else to say really, aside from thanks to 604now and we hope you enjoy the show (all feedback, good or bad, is most welcome).

You can read more on it here and listen to episode #1 below, and the tracklist (with links) is after the jump.

Episode #1 Playlist:

Faith Healer – ‘Cosmic Troubles’
White Poppy – ‘Confusion’
Sales – ‘Big Sis’
Danny Diggs – ‘Wino’
The Expert – ‘Devine’
Open Window – ‘0013 (Riot Tape)’
Villagers – ‘Courage’
Anderson – ‘Things We Have In Common’
Django Django – ‘Shake and Tremble’
Energy Slime – ‘Star On The Ground’
Hot Chip – ‘Started Right’
James Deen – ‘An Unwritten Love Song To Summer Roberts’
Sh-Shakes – ‘Little To Life’
Zen Mystery Fogg – ‘Pale Horse’
DRINKS – ‘Hermits on Holiday’
If you would like to get in touch? Email at millionslikeuspodcast[at]gmail[dot]com or on Twitter.

BarryGruff’s June 2015 Playlist


A regular monthly feature to the blog; a nice, neat and handy playlist of tracks featured during the month.

June was another pretty fine month for new music. We had new tunes from Girls Names, Sextile, Hibou, Velvet Morning & Hooton Tennis Club ahead of their respective, forthcoming new albums. There were excellent new singles from Hyde & Beast, Freedom Fry, Dan Amor, Slow Riot, Tomorrows, Alaska Wilson & PANKHABILLI.

Also featured on this month’s playlist are great tracks from Seazoo, The Statics, CZARFACE, Peaness, Energy Slime & Pale Honey. Yeah, so, June was good. And that’s all before mentioning the interview with Ric Rawlins about his new book, ‘Rise of the Super Furry Animals’ – read it here.

Listen to BarryGruff’s June 2015 playlist below.