BarryGruff’s June 2015 Playlist


A regular monthly feature to the blog; a nice, neat and handy playlist of tracks featured during the month.

June was another pretty fine month for new music. We had new tunes from Girls Names, Sextile, Hibou, Velvet Morning & Hooton Tennis Club ahead of their respective, forthcoming new albums. There were excellent new singles from Hyde & Beast, Freedom Fry, Dan Amor, Slow Riot, Tomorrows, Alaska Wilson & PANKHABILLI.

Also featured on this month’s playlist are great tracks from Seazoo, The Statics, CZARFACE, Peaness, Energy Slime & Pale Honey. Yeah, so, June was good. And that’s all before mentioning the interview with Ric Rawlins about his new book, ‘Rise of the Super Furry Animals’ – read it here.

Listen to BarryGruff’s June 2015 playlist below.


Alaska Wilson – ‘Invisible Boy’


Regular patrons may remember David Harks from a string of stellar singles he released last year, that ended up forming into the fabulous, Lomo EP.

While we don’t have a new material from Harks’, what we are privy to though, is the latest release from his label, JumJum Records. The single ‘Invisible Boy’ is a sublime debut from newcomer Alaska Wilson. Info on Wilson is pretty scarce but what we know is he currently resides in Dangriga on the coast of Belize, suffice to say, the single speaks for itself. ‘Invisible Boy’ whisks an elegant blend downtempo pop, soul and electronics, as hypnotic synths combine with waves of feel good, woozy summery vibes. There’s a hint of the Balearic about it and tempered by some tender vocals from Wilson. An intriguing first outing from Wilson, let’s hope we’re not waiting too long for more tunes.

‘Invisible Boy’ is out now & you can sample its delight below. Also, the fantastic artwork was carefully created by Ilya Gulyaev – I really like it.