Martha Ffion – ‘ Wallflower’


Irish-born, Glasgow-based singer-songwriter, Martha Ffion has shared new single ‘Wallflower’.

‘Wallflower’ is her second single released through very respected indie label Turnstile (Gruff Rhys, Cate Le Bon, Drinks etc.), and she’s ready to kick off 2016 in style. Following on from her previous releases, it is shimmering guitar pop with a slight 60s twist. Coated in a light sparing, wash of reverb and an infectious use of melody, it reminds us what has made her work so endearing thus far. Imbued with forlorn sense of melancholic longing, her powerful croon cuts through it’s gentle surroundings, followed closely by a tougher, grittier and meatier guitar-line. There is something compelling in the way Ffion sings, heavily invested emotionally, what she is saying, needs to be heard. Undeniably infectious, ‘Wallflower’ further cements Martha Ffion rep.

You can check out ‘Wallflower’ below and if that is to your liking, why not check out her fantastic back-catalogue here. There are some UK live dates after the jump, too.

Continue reading

Shit Robot – ‘OB-8′


While most of the column inches concerning DFA Records has been largely about one thing; a certain LCD Soundsystem revival tour.

In other DFA news, DFA stalwart Shit Robot, aka Dubliner Marcus Lambkin, has released a surprise 12″ ‘OB-8′ b/w ‘Torpedo’. ‘OB-8′ is a transfixing 7-minutes plus that comes off like it could quite perfectly, soundtrack a futuristic late night drive. Heavy synths, dark atmospheres and hypnotic rhythm combine in epic fashion, aided by some vocal and fluttering samples, winding and throbbing through to the end of the road. This brilliance should come as no surprise, classic Shit Robot mastery. It’s always great to hear new stuff from Shit Robot but no word on when we’ll have a follow up to 2014’s We Got Love. On can hope it is soon. The video is great too, complimenting the essence of the track as we’re taken on a drive through a mesh of bleached and washed-out colours.

You can check out ‘OB-8′ and its excellent visual companion below. ‘OB-8′ / ‘Torpedo’ is out now, buy it on iTunes or Bandcamp via DFA Records.


Introducing: Golden Fable


Golden Fable are two imaginative and creative musicians from North Wales. Inspired by the natural world and varied landscapes that surround them, together Rebecca Palin and Tim Joy create rich, haunting and powerful music.

To date, Golden Fable have released two albums, Star Map and Ancient Blue, through their own record label, Full of Joy Records. Most recently however, in October 2015 in fact, the duo announced a new and ambitious project: a series of releases, coming out on the first Monday of each month. The latest in the series, ‘Through the Night’ is a stunning, reflective and unhurried beauty. Gentle, hushed drums and finger picked electric guitars drift slowly by, providing the emotive backdrop for Palin’s delicate but striking vocal. ‘Weather Station’ meanwhile, is six minutes of gorgeous instrumental bliss. A warm and gentle strum and twinkling synths set the dreamy ethereal ambience, before the twinkling synths and mildly motorik beats come to the fore, surging to a epic, euphoric finish. On ‘The Crossing’, Palin’s voice is once again the key, constant and central, her beguiling otherworldly vocal soars atop of the initially mellow, drifting acoustic melody steering us toward an emphatic soaring climax where dizzying guitars swirl.

You can sample some of their beguiling and majestic cuts below, or if you fancy some further investigation, there are loads more where that came from on Bandcamp, Spotify and iTunes.





Yuck Announce New Album and Share ‘Hearts In Motion’


London-based indie band Yuck have announced a new album, Stranger Things.

The new record, their third, is out on February 26th and is preceded by new single ‘Hearts In Motion’. Yuck have made a solid name for themselves for whipping up their own brand of ’90s inspired lo-fi fuzz and the latest single, well it does very little to dispel this reputation. ‘Hearts In Motion’ is hook-ridden, reverb-laden and driven indie guitar heroics, with some added power-pop punch. Amid the general guitar bop, there are astonishingly lush layered harmonies and whirling guitar riffs. This is a triumphant & confident return for the band, and easily one of their best tracks to date, and that’s saying something.

Yuck’s new album Stranger Things, is out on February 26th. Take a listen to ‘Hearts In Motion’ below. Yuck have announced huge list of live dates including Fortune Sound Club, Vancouver on March 29th. See the full list here.



Exmagician Announce Debut Album & Share New Single; ‘Job Done’



Following the release of their debut EP Kiss That Wealth Goodbye, toward the back end of last year, Belfast duo exmagician have announced details of their debut album Scan The Blue.

The LP will be released on March 25th and coinciding with this announcement, they’ve shared new track ‘Job Done’. Exmagician is the latest incarnation from long-time collaborators Danny Todd and James Smith, the musical partnership behind Cashier No.9, who released the wonderful David Holmes produced album To The Death Of Fun in 2011. ‘Job Done’ is another indication of a move toward a heavier, hard-edged and rockier sound. A mix of guitars meeting an expansive array of synths and effects, spiraling psych distortion and propelled through this and gritty harmonies, by the intent, pounding beat. If the Kiss That Wealth Goodbye EP signalled a promising start to Smith and Todd’s latest musical venture, ‘Job Done’ confirms that, and more. More than a spark of reverential praise needed here. Job done indeed.

The debut album Scan The Blue, is out on March 25th via Bella Union. You can sample the wonderful ‘Job Done’ below.