The Dead Heavys – ‘Uptight’


Waterford’s The Dead Heavys have proven themselves a reliable and plentiful source of great tunes, the likes of ‘Everybody in the Nite’, ‘Slow Robot’ and ‘New Age of Innocence’ are testament to this not so outlandish claim.

The Waterford five-piece indie-rockers are back again with a brand new single called ‘Uptight’, and surprise, surprise, it’s another cracking track. Once again teaming up with Jagz Kooner (Primal Scream, Kasabian & Sabres of Paradise), they’ve delivered yet another bright, upbeat and so, so catchy tune in ‘Uptight’. Their now characteristic sheen is met with some anthemic surges and infectious sing-a-long moments, all filled with the shimmering sparkle that’s stood them out from the crowd from day one. Inspired stuff, as indeed is the video, which is the result of a fruitful collaboration from Matthew O’ Reilly (Lick My Style) and Colm Williamson of Waterford Whispers fame. Let’s just hope there’s plenty more from The Dead Heavys throughout 2014 and beyond.

Check out ‘Uptight’ and the video below. The single is out on May 30th.

You forgot a username for the YouTube shortcode

R.SEILIOG – ‘Peripheral Thermal (Left)’

r.seiliog 2014 new

One of Wales’ greatest hidden treasures, and quite possibly the county’s most unique talent, R.Seiliog is back with his first new material since 2013′s fascinating Doppler mini-album.

Hidden or not, the mere mention of new R.Seiliog happenings is enticing, intriguing and greeted around this parts like a stoppage time winner! The new track, ‘Peripheral Thermal (Left)’ is yet another of hypnotic, genre-defying majesty – once again bending the lines between exhilarating electro and propulsive Krautrock. A perfect balance is eeked out between the beauty of glistening strings, dripping percussion and floating airiness, and blended so perfectly with popping glitches, crunching beats, winding electronics and shifting looping synth. It all sounds repetitive, minimalist and yet, splendidly lush at the same time. No idea as to where this is headed yet, stand alone track or part of something more substantial? Either way it’ll find it’s way into many hearts.

R.Seiliog is clearly a one-of-a-kind, and always an enticing and intriguing prospect which shows absolutely no sign of abating – just time then to indulge in ‘Peripheral Thermal (Left)’ below.

Ghost Estates – ‘In Your Dreams’


It seems like a long time since Ghost Estates’ released their self-titled debut album, an impressive and stylistically diverse record taking in straight up indie-rock, reach for the sky guitar anthems and new wave.

Two years on and Ghost Estates are back with a new single, ‘In Your Dreams’, which is taken from their forthcoming, as yet untitled second LP. The lineup has seen a reshuffle with vocalist/guitarist Alan Monaghan and drummer Keith Byrne moving on and new drummer, Dave Mulvaney (formerly of Cheap Freaks) coming in. Yet going by the new single, the personnel changes have done little to diminish the sparkle that made their debut so good, and ‘In Your Dreams’ sits nicely alongside their previous output. It comes across as an under three minute reaffirmation of that very fact, albeit in a more streamlined, honed and refined fashion. Things are looking good for the new record, hopefully they don’t leave us hanging on too long.

You can stream ‘In Your Dreams’ below or pick it up for a cool €1 from Bandcamp. Also, Ghost Estates play Whelans on May 22nd.