(Video) Common – Ghetto Dreams (Feat. Nas)

You forgot a username for the YouTube shortcode

Common‘s ninth studio album The Dreamer/The Believer was released in December of last year but has been on constant rotation over the past few months.

As the title suggests, The Dreamer/The Believer, is a record of nostalgia that hankers back into the dreams and aspirations of his past, told with slick wordplay and tactile storytelling. ‘Ghetto Dreams’, featuring Nas, is one of the album’s standout and hardest hitting tracks, which like the album as a whole, is rendered with honesty and authenticity.

New Kid Karate | ‘Louder’ and ‘Wet’

Dublin ragged rock/punk duo Kid Karate have returned to the fray with a couple of tasty new tracks.

The tracks,  ‘Louder’ and ‘Wet’, are taken from Hot Press’ free downloadable album Genre Free. The good news is the lads haven’t lost any of the gutsy panache that made their debut EP, HEART, so good. The intervening time hasn’t seen the lads soften their approach, ‘Louder’ and ‘Wet’, are two slices of energetic, gritty riff-laden rock n roll at its best – fast becoming KK’s signature sound. In other KK news, there are rumours that a debut album may be with us soon. Let’s hope so!

You can grab the entire Genre Free album for free from here. It was produced by Hot Press in conjunction with Dublin’s Sound Training Centre and NDT Productions.

(Video) Blood Red Shoes – Lost Kids

You forgot a username for the YouTube shortcode

There is something undeniably special about Blood Red Shoes. The Brighton duo consistently deliver meaty chunks of straight-up rock n roll. In keeping with this trend, they have unveiled a video for their latest single ‘Lost Kids’, which captures the bands signature sound of big, bold and brazen indie-rock.

‘Lost Kids’ is taken from Blood Red Shoes’ third album, In Time To Voices. 

Eva Petersen – Femme Fatale

Eva Petersen has been busy working on her debut solo record with Echo & The Bunnymen’s Will Sergeant. The album is almost done and dusted and should be with us later in the year.

In other news, Eva has kindly posted an amazing version of The Velvet Underground and Nico’s ‘Femme Fatale’ on soundcloud. It’s not clear whether or not this will make the album but it is an astounding track, which enables her stunning vocals to take centre stage, soaring above a wonderful ’60s aesthetic.

A wonderful track and hopefully there’s not too long a wait between now and the release of the album.

BarryGruff Presents #6: w/ Sive, Padraig McCauley & The P Affection and Sea Area Forecast :: Flanagan’s Newbridge :: May 25th

So, ‘BarryGruff Presents’ returns to Flanagan’s Bar, Newbridge for its sixth instalment on Friday, May 25th.

The first 5 shows have been fantastic & ‘BarryGruff Presents’ #6 promises to be no less impressive, with the delectable talents of Sive, Padraig McCauley & The P Affection and Sea Area Forecast on show.

Sive, the brainchild of Naas musician Sadhbh O’Sullivan, who’s recent debut album We Are Moving was greeted by rave reviews. Drawing from a wide variety of alternative rock, jazz and folk influences, Sive’s gorgeous sound fuses these influences, with excellent musicianship and charm.

Accompanying them on the bill are Naas-based Padraig McCauley & The P Affection, whose genre hopping sounds of their debut album received notable acclaim last year. Meanwhile Newbridge based Sea Area Forecast take time out from prepping their debut EP, indie, folk and rock sounds. It is going to be yet another memorable night. 

Entry is FREE as always and starts at 9.00pm Friday, May 25th. More info & Facebook event here.

Sive – Sunkissed

Download: Padraig McCauley & The P Affection – Lingo

Sea Area Forecast – Marvelous With Tin